Highland Ave, Cohasset, MA 02025, USA
Owned By: Town of Cohasset
This grassy, tree-lined historic district is a lovely spot for picnic or a short stroll.
Nestled between Highland Ave. and North Main Street, between Robert E. Jason Road and William B. Long Jr. Road, this grassy green space is bordered by churches, private homes, and the town hall. It was designated as public land in 1670, when Cohasset was part of the Town of Hingham, and added to the National Register of Historic places in 1996.
The southern portion of the Cohasset Common is bordered by paved sidewalks. The northern portion does not have sidewalks round its border, however there are criss-crossed paved pathways across its middle. Altogether there are about 0.5 miles of paved sidewalk/trail.
Habitats and Wildlife
Most of the Cohasset Common drains to James Brook, which flows into Cohasset Harbor. The northernmost section of the common drains into Little Harbor.
Historic Site: No
Boat Launch: No
Size: 24 acres
Hours: Dawn to Dusk
Parking: Limited on-street parking on some perimeter streets, plus additional parking at Cohasset Town Hall (Highland Ave.).
Trail Difficulty: Easy
Trash receptacles and picnic tables in two locations — next to St. Stephen’s Church and next to First Parish Unitarian Church. Duck pond with fountain (please do not feed the ducks!)
Boat Ramp: No
ADA Access: Yes
Scenic Views: Yes
Waterbody/Watershed: James Brook (Cohasset Harbor watershed), also Little Harbor watershed