DUE TO COVID-19 PLEASE CHECK THE LANDOWNERS WEBSITE FOR UP TO DATE INFORMATION. SOME ARE CLOSED AND RULES FOR USE AT THESE PROPERTIES MAY HAVE CHANGED.

2020 is NSRWA’s 50th Anniversary, and everyone is invited to celebrate with us all year long with activities, contests, and events. We’ve got a series of FREE walks in the watershed planned with NSRWA Environmental Educator Brian Taylor, or you can explore on your own. Each month we will highlight a town in our watershed with stories, social media posts, and more. Every week a property you can explore will be featured.

You can enter to win a monthly prize package by visiting the highlighted properties and posting your photos on Instagram @northsouthrivers with the hashtag #ExploreSouthShore. Once a month we will randomly choose a winner from the posts to receive a prize package.

Entering is as easy as 1-2-3!

  1. Check out our weekly 50 Places to Explore post on  our website, Facebook, or Instagram.
  2. Visit that property and take a picture of the location or you and/or your friends and family exploring.
  3. Share the photo with us any time that month on our Instagram page @northsouthrivers with the hashtag #ExploreSouthShore and include the name of the property. Click here for contest rules.
    Click here to see the monthly winners.

50 Places to Explore

Wednesday, January 8                 On your own – Bates Lane Conservation Area, Scituate
Wednesday, January 15               On your own – Widow’s Walk, Scituate
Wednesday, January 22               On your own – Herring River Trail, Scituate
Wednesday, January 29               On your own – Cushing Memorial State Park or Ellis Estate Trails, Scituate
Wednesday, February 5                On your own – Lehner Conservation Area, Hingham
Wednesday, February 12              On your own – Wompatuck State Park, Hingham
Wednesday, February 19              On your own – Foundry Pond, Hingham
Wednesday, February 26              On your own – Thompson Pond Trail or Twin Ponds Trail, Weymouth
Wednesday, March 4                     On your own – Great Esker Park, Weymouth
Wednesday, March 11                   On your own – Webb Memorial State Park, Weymouth
Wednesday, March 18                   On your own – Pond Meadow Park, Weymouth
Wednesday, March 25                   On your own – Tucker Preserve, Pembroke
Wednesday, April 1                         On your own – Canoe Club Preserve, Pembroke
Wednesday, April 8                         On your own – Tubbs Meadow Conservation Area, Pembroke
Wednesday, April 15                      On your own – Willow Brook Farm Preserve, Pembroke
Wednesday, April 22                      On your own – J.J. Shepherd Memorial Forest, Pembroke
Wednesday, April 29                      On your own – Herring Run Park, Pembroke
Wednesday, May 6                         On your own – Round Pond Trails, Duxbury
Wednesday, May 13                       On your own – South River Bog, Duxbury
Wednesday, May 20                       On your own – Lansing Bennett Forest, Duxbury
Wednesday, May 27                       On your own – Howlands Landing Park,  Duxbury
Wednesday, June 3                        On your own – Couch Beach, Marshfield
Wednesday, June 10                      On your own – John Little Conservation Area, Marshfield
Wednesday, June 17                      On your own – Francis Keville Footbridge, Marshfield
Wednesday, June 24                      On your own – Veterans’ Memorial Park or South River Park, Marshfield
Wednesday, July 1                          On your own – Paddle the North River, Hanover Public Launch  (See Timing the Tides)
Wednesday, July 8                          On your own – Norwell Pathway, Norwell
Wednesday, July 15                        On your own – Norris Reservation, Norwell
Wednesday, July 22                        On your own – Cuffee Hill Conservation Area & Black Pond Bog, Norwell
Wednesday, July 29                        On your own – Stetson Meadows, Norwell
Wednesday, August 5                      On your own – Luddams Ford Park or Indian Head River Trails, Hanover
Wednesday, August 12                    On your own – Denham Pond or Melzar Hatch Preserve, Hanover
Wednesday, August 19                    On your own – Phillips Sanctuary and Firehouse Loop or Colby-Phillips Trails, Hanover
Wednesday, August 26                    On your own – Folly Hill & Bog Iron Trails or Chapman’s Landing & Iron Mine Brook, Hanover
Wednesday, September 2               On your own – Old Rockland Fireworks Loop Trail, Rockland
Wednesday, September 9               On your own – Rockland Rail Trail, Rockland
Wednesday, September 16             On your own – George Anderson Rockland Town Forest, Rockland
Wednesday, September 23             On your own – Summer Street Conservation Lands, Rockland
Wednesday, September 30             On your own – Paddle the Indian Head Pond, Hanson
Wednesday, October 7                     On your own – Rocky Run Conservation Area, Hanson
Wednesday, October 14                   On your own – Alton J Smith Reserve & & Indian Head Pond, Hanson
Wednesday, October 21                   On your own – Burrage Pond Wildlife Management Area, Hanson
Wednesday, October 28                   On your own – Camp Kiwanee, Hanson
Wednesday, November 4                On your own – Ames Nowell State Park, Abington
Wednesday, November 11              On your own – Island Grove Park, Abington
Wednesday, November 18              On your own – North River Wildlife Sanctuary, Marshfield
Wednesday, November 25              On your own – Rexhame Beach, Marshfield
Wednesday, December 2                 On your own – Hobart Pond, Whitman
Wednesday, December 9                 On your own – Whitman Town Park, Whitman
Wednesday, December 16              On your own – TBA
Wednesday, December 23              On your own – TBA
Wednesday, December 30              On your own – TBA