We were delighted with the response to last year’s Explore South Shore Contest, which celebrated NSRWA’s 50th Anniversary by suggesting 50 properties to visit throughout the year. In fact, the program was so popular that we’ve decided to expand it into 2021, offering 52 more places for you to check out this year, one for every week.

You can enter to win a monthly prize by visiting the featured properties and posting your photos on Instagram @northsouthrivers with the hashtag #ExploreSouthShore. Once a month we will randomly choose a winner from the posts to receive a prize package.

HOW IT WORKS

  1. Consult the Explore South Shore 2021 list on our website, Facebook, or Instagram.
  2. Visit the highlighted property and take a picture of the location or you and/or your friends and family exploring.
  3. Share the photo with us any time that month on our Instagram page @northsouthrivers with the hashtag #ExploreSouthShore and include the name of the property.

Click here for contest rules.
Click here to see the monthly winners.

Click here to see the 50 Places to Explore monthly winners from 2020.

52 Places to Explore

Friday, January 1                    Nathaniel Thomas Mill – Hanson
Friday, January 8                    Cavern Rock Park – Weymouth
Friday, January 15                  Lapham Woods – Duxbury
Friday, January 22                  Indian Crossway Conservation Area – Hanson
Friday, January 29                  Great Pond Trail – Weymouth
Friday, February 5                  Hartsuff Park Recreation Area – Rockland
Friday, February 12                Veterans Memorial Town Forest – Hanson
Friday, February 19                Higgins-MacAllister Preserve – Scituate
Friday, February 26               Woodbine Island Conservation Area – Weymouth
Friday, March 5                      Nava-Stasiluk Conservation Area, Hanover Senior Center Trails, Tindale Bog – Hanover
Friday, March 12                    The Last Meadows – Hanson
Friday, March 19                    Turkey Hill – Hingham
Friday, March 26                    Bare Cove Park – Hingham
Friday, April 2                         Donovan-Wildcat Conservation Area – Norwell
Friday, April 9                         Webster-Billings Conservation Area – Hanson
Friday, April 16                       Misty Meadows Conservation Property – Pembroke
Friday, April 23                       Pudding Hill Reservation – Marshfield
Friday, April 30                       Myles Standish Monument State Reservation – Duxbury
Friday, May 7                          World’s End – Hingham
Friday, May 14                        Hoyt-Hall Preserve – Marshfield
Friday, May 21                        North Hill Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary – Duxbury
Friday, May 28                        Whitney & Thayer Woods, Cohasset, Hingham
Friday, June 4                         Jacobs Pond Conservation Area – Norwell
Friday, June 11                       Poor Meadow Brook Conservation Area – Hanson
Friday, June 18                       Maquan Pond at Cranberry Cove – Hanson
Friday, June 25                       Furnace Pond Beach, Oldham Pond Town Landing – Pembroke
Friday, July 2                           Crooker Memorial Park and Island Creek Pond – Duxbury
Friday, July 9                           Griffin Dairy Farm – Abington
Friday, July 16                         Historic O’Neil Farm – Duxbury
Friday, July 23                         Berrybrook Fields – Duxbury
Friday, July 30                         Daniel Webster Wildlife Sanctuary – Marshfield
Friday, August 6                      Weir River Farm – Hingham
Friday, August 13                    Damon’s Point – Marshfield
Friday, August 20                    Coast Guard Hill – Marshfield
Friday, August 27                    Masthead Drive Trail – Norwell
Friday, September 3               Pratt Farm, Francis Keville Footbridge, Bridle Path and Rail Trail – Marshfield
Friday, September 10             Bay Farm – Duxbury, Kingston
Friday, September 17             Duxbury Bogs – Duxbury
Friday, September 24             Ellis Nature Sanctuary – Marshfield
Friday, October 1                    Beaver Brook Playground – Abington
Friday, October 8                    Nelson Memorial Forest, Phillips Farm Preserve, Union Street Woodland, Packet Landing – Marshfield
Friday, October 15                  Hubbell Preserve – Scituate
Friday, October 22                  Donald Flaherty Trail – Whitman
Friday, October 29                  Webster’s Wilderness – Marshfield
Friday, November 5                Stewart/Person Preserve – Kingston
Friday, November 12              Sampson Forest & Memorial Park – Kingston
Friday, November 19              The Nook Preserve – Kingston
Friday, November 26              Silver Lake Sanctuary – Kingston
Friday, December 3                Whitney Spur Rail Trail – Cohasset, Hingham
Friday, December 10              Harbor Park and Harbor Walk, Peter Igo Park – Marshfield
Friday, December 17              Wompatuck State Park – Doane Street/Cohasset Entrance – Cohasset
Friday, December 24              Abigail Adams State Park – Weymouth
Friday, December 31              Osprey Overlook Park – Weymouth