On Friday, November 3, more than 80 people joined NSRWA at the South Shore Natural Science Center to celebrate healthy rivers. The evening began with a reception which was a great time to meet everyone involved in all of the projects. Two restoration projects were highlighted for the evening – the removal of the Tack Factory Dam on the Third Herring Brook and the restoration of Brook Trout habitat on Iron Mine Brook. These two projects reconnected 9 miles of stream habitat. We honored the winner of the Barbara Pearson Memorial Award as well as our Volunteers of the Year. The new board members were also nominated and voted in for a two year term.

To see photos of the event, go to our Facebook page. 

Keynote – Connecting People Connecting  Rivers
New Board Members – Brendan Murray and Lindsey Jevne
Volunteer  of the Year – Lisa Lenon
Citizen Science Volunteers of the Year – Ken and Jeana Homola
Barbara Pearson Award Winner – Cardinal Cushing Centers and supporting cast for reconnecting 8 miles of the Third Herring Brook to the North River by removing the Tack Factory dam
Healthy Rivers Award – Hanover Department of Public Works, Trout Unlimited Southeast Chapter, Ivas Environmental, Cavanaro Consulting for the restoration of Brook Trout habitat on Iron Mine Brook